ACT, Evolution, and the Deepest Kindness

an ACT Pioneers online event

with Kelly Wilson

CDT 7pm, 5 JULY | AEST 10am, 6 JULY | NZST 12pm, 6 JULY
Use this link to check this time in your timezone.
A replay of the event will be available for 2 weeks after publishing, expiring 21st July 2017.
Webinar announcements page here and FAQ page here.



Kelly G. Wilson, PhD is a Professor of psychology at the University at Mississippi.

I had an experience about 8 years ago that changed me and I want to offer a taste of that change to you. It was about 8 years ago that I finally put together, at a very personal level, ACT, evolution science, and the deepest kindness in a way that impacted my life on a daily basis. I know it probably sounds kind of dumb and obvious, but I put together:

  1. kindness towards people is a worthwhile way to spend my time,
  2. Kelly is a people too, and so,
  3. maybe self compassion, not just positive thoughts, but active self compassion applied to me also.

So, I have spent the past 8 years reading, exploring, and talking about self-care that takes into consideration the frequent mismatch between our evolved selves and modern world conditions. I am not talking about some kind of paleo-reenactment. Our paleo brethren buried half their children before their 5th birthday. And, I do not, absolutely do not, mean the “you should….eat, sleep, exercise, blah blah blah." You are busy people or tired people or both and you do not need another addition to an already too long to-do list. I am talking about something much, much kinder than that.

So what I have in mind for this webinar is a mini workshop on active self-compassion. I want to take you where I have traveled and ask you whether there might be something there for you and for your clients.

And, by the way, please do suggest that your clients sign up for the webinar also. This will be a nontechnical application of ACT to self-care, self-compassion, and the deepest kindness.


Seats are limited!
Kelly G. Wilson, PhD is a Professor of psychology at the University at Mississippi.

THIS EVENT HAS ENDED, thank you to all who participated!

NOTE: During registration attendees to this event will be offered a special price on two more events as part of the 'ACT Pioneers' series. The series of three online events is being held in July 2017 on the dates listed below. The low price seen during checkout is only for attendees of 'ACT, Evolution, and the Deepest Kindness', our heartfelt THANK YOU for joining us

In addition to Kelly, you will hear from:

* JoAnne Dahl, PhD presenting: How can ACT help prevent prejudice and racism?
RESCHEDULED DUE TO SERVER OUTAGE TO:
CEST 7am, 10 AUGUST | AEST 3pm, 10 AUGUST | NZST 5pm, 10 AUGUST
PREVIOUSLY: CEST 7am, 20 JULY | AEST 3pm, 20 JULY | NZST 5pm, 20 JULY
Use this link to check this time in your timezone.
A replay of the event will be available after publishing with no set expiry date.

* Robyn Walser, PhD presenting: ACT as Process: Bridging the Gap between Conceptual Understanding and Process in Practical Application
RESCHEDULED:
PDT 5pm, 13 SEPTEMBER | AEST 10am, 14 SEPTEMBER | NZST 12pm, 14 SEPTEMBER
PREVIOUSLY: PDT 5pm, 26 JULY | AEST 10am, 27 JULY | NZST 12pm, 27 JULY
Use this link to check this time in your timezone.
A replay of the event will be available for 2 weeks after publishing.

Your host: ANZACBS President, Dr Paul Atkins.

This series of three will include replay recordings, available after the events in your member area. Please note that as our presenters will in many cases be sharing recent insights not yet published or presented elsewhere, the replays will only be available for a limited time after the webinar.

Want to hear about future events too? Sign up to our ANZACBS Online mailing list below.

Webinar announcements page here and FAQ page here.

First Name
*
Enter your First Name here
This question is required
Last Name
Enter your Last Name here
Your Wish List for future online events...
Let us know who or what else you'd like us to arrange online to support your professional journey. If you are unable to submit this form scroll up to check that you have completed the two mandatory fields marked with a *
Subscribe


This event brought to you by the Australia & New Zealand Chapter of the Association for Contextual Behavioral Science. You can find our Chapter page on the ACBS website here. Feel free to join if you haven't already!

Visit the ANZACBS website here. Our next conference is in Perth, Australia, October 2017.



Powered by Paperform